still here

And no baby yet.

My official due date is this Saturday.  I just keep getting bigger and bigger and more impatient.  And yes, a little anxious about the birth itself.  But mostly impatient and wanting this part of the baby-making to be OVER already.

My midwife is coming over tomorrow to try a “stretch and sweep”, so will try to get things going.  Anybody else had this before?  I know it’s fairly common, but I just thought I would (of course) ask the internet its opinion on this procedure.  Because the internet never lets me down, you know.

7 Comments »

  1. Marla said

    Yes – on the Monday check up on the day before Josie was due, I had one. Had Josie 3:56 am Wedsnesday morning.

    One twinge – and it was fine.

  2. cheryl said

    I have had *many* “stetch and sweeps.” Not really my favourite thing. They weren’t unbearable. But not pleasant, either. They did not work at all for my first child, but I do think they brought on labour for the second child.

  3. Jen said

    Good luck with it all. And I have no idea what a stretch and sweep is. Sounds like some new version of the swiffer.

  4. urbanmummy said

    I had one, but, I don’t recall if it did much. Wasn’t much, really, just a bit of discomfort.

    Good luck! Easy labour and all that.

  5. I had my membranes swept twice with my first kid and it wasn’t nearly as successful in bringing on labor as a big old dose of pitocin was. Good luck! 🙂

  6. kgirl said

    I had many. many. Make sure she at least takes you out for dinner first.

    Good luck! Thinking efficient labour thoughts for you.

  7. Mary L. said

    I had a sweep too — on my due date. My son was born six days later.

    But I’d heard that taking long walks worked. Then I read in my baby book that they didn’t work. But, ultimately, the walk did it.

    I’ll be thinking of you. Nice relaxing opening thoughts.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

